Ghostbusters: Afterlife (2021) Film Review

And so that brings us all up to date with the Ghostbusters movies, as we now come onto the most recent instalment, Ghostbusters: Afterlife, and as usual I’ve got plenty of thoughts to share with you on this one, so let’s get right into it.

And I’m very pleased to say that I thoroughly enjoyed this one, out of all the sequels, this is by far the best one of them all. I really like the introduction of the new characters in this movie as well as all the nods and winks to the original. It definitely hit the right level of nostalgia for me, and I think that will be the crux of this movie for a lot of people as to whether or not you’re okay with fan service in a movie, and if you are okay with it, then chances are you will probably enjoy this. That being said, let’s dig into this a little further.

I want to start off by talking about Mckenna Grace, because she is by far the stand out character in this movie, and she owns it to say the least. She gives the movie a lot of heart and soul, and the movie is very much akin to that of The Force Awakens, where it feels like it’s passing the torch from one generation to the next. And I think that’s good because people will then be able to come and see this movie and be able to connect with it in the same way as they did with the original, which was definitely the case for me.

And I think that’s a big part for me at least as to why I really connect with Ghostbusters, and was something that I talked about in my review of last year, in that I feel like there’s this underlying message in Ghostbusters which is that it looks out for the little guy. If you’re weird and nerdy then that’s cool, because we’re nerdy and weird as well, and I find that really comforting whne watching these movies.

Stemming off from that though, I think the rest of the cast are all really good and compliment one another really well, they all feel like real people, and they all feel like a real family. I like that we’re introduced to Mckenna Grace’s character first and foremost, and then one by one we get to know everyone else in the cast, I thought that worked really well because it gave us time to get to know all the new characters really well and gave them a chance to develop in their own way. I really like Paul Rudd in this as well, how can you not like Paul Rudd, I thought he was a lot of fun, and I thought his Paul Rudd energy that he gives to his movies fit really well for a Ghsotbusters movie.

It did kind of feel as if they were going for a Stranger Things vibe by having the new characters all be under the age of eighteen, and I think that’s another thing that will probably sway this movie for as lot of people in terms of how much they like that. Personally, I really like Stranger Things, so I was fine with it.

Similarly linking back to what I was talking about before with the fan service in this movie, it definitely has a nostalgic feel to it as well, which I thought worked really well for this movie, it felt like they got the balance right this time around as opposed to the last movie which felt like it was just ticking things off that people recognise from the original for the sake of it.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed this movie, and would highly recommend it if you have not seen it already. But apart from that though, I really hope that you enjoyed this article, if you did then please do be sure to give it a like as I really appreciate it. And if you happen to have any thoughts on this film, then please do feel free to share them down in the comments section below, as I would love to hear from you. But apart from that until next time, thanks for reading.

Leave a comment